What's new

Welcome To Chatbanter

Chatbanter is a general discussion site giving you many options for discussion and a little fun, enjoy colored usernames, special userbars and an open fun community so let's chat about what matters to you right now.

Which linux operating system do you use?

Thread Owner : Altair
Altair

Altair

Valued Member
Jul 3, 2020
www.network.justageek.me
CB$
If somehow I missed this thread already being posted my apologies.
-
Which Linux operating system do you use?
--
This summer I started using Arch Linux.

PGen98

PGen98

Community Leader
Community Advocate
Valued Member
Jun 27, 2020
CB$
Arch isn't bad, I'm a distro-hopper, so I don't really stick with one distro for too long. I used to be absolutely head over heels for CrunchBang (#!), but they went belly-up, and neither Bunsen Labs nor CrunchBang++ really seemed to capture the same magic, so I've been distro-hopping for a good 5 or 6 years now. I'm presently using PoP_OS on my laptop and will be building a new PC sometime in the near for working purposes that I'm hoping to dual boot w/ Win 10 (...for certain tasks, sadly...) and Fedora Cinnamon. I'm quite fond of the Cinnamon desktop environment, and while I'm cautious to use a Chinese-based distro, I do like what Deepin have done with their OS, so I'm keeping tabs on it, as well.

My personal favourites at the moment are:

PoP_OS
Fedora Cinnamon
Linux Mint
Zorin OS
Elementary OS

...and Deepin, cautiously...

PGen98

PGen98

Community Leader
Community Advocate
Valued Member
Jun 27, 2020
CB$
I don't use Linux. I have been using Windows since XP was launched and will continue to do so. I never realised that there were so many different types of operating systems for Linux up until reading this discussion.

And there's certainly nothing wrong with sticking with Windows if that's what you're most comfortable with, though Linux is essentially feature-compatible with Windows, depending on the distro you choose.