Making compost at home!

Reaction score
CB$
More and more people are now using the biowaste from their kitchens and making their own compost at home. I too have started now, not sure if it will turn out well but nevertheless, I am giving it a shot. What about you people? How do you recycle waste from your kitchen?

I am an advocate of compost because I have been making compost for many years now. I have a compost pit where we put the vegetable scraps and fruit rinds. When they decay the compost becomes very fertile that is liked by the plants. However, I have a problem lately that the ants are attacking the compost bin. I admit that we also put leftover food like rice in the compost pit. It is a problem when the ants are growing in numbers for they enter the house sometimes. Right now we have stopped using the compost pit until the ants are gone.

We live on acreage so our compost consists of tossing it into the woods lol We eat a lot of produce so the creatures finish off the rest.
Wow! You are indeed lucky to own a large piece of land! I guess composting and living off of the land comes naturally to you! I would love to see pictures of your woods! :)

I do gardening as a hobby as well as a recreation and a way to save money. I grow flowers, spices, and vegetables. I also like to manage my waste. By managing my waste, I can easily make compost for my plants. Since I make my own compost, I use organic fertilizer on my plants and grow organic produce.

I do gardening as a hobby as well as a recreation and a way to save money. I grow flowers, spices, and vegetables. I also like to manage my waste. By managing my waste, I can easily make compost for my plants. Since I make my own compost, I use organic fertilizer on my plants and grow organic produce.
That is so nice. Do you have a large garden space? What kind of spices do you grow in your garden?