Have anybody worked with mainframes?

Anuj Dhawan

New Chatterer
Oct 9, 2020
Hi,

Subject line says it all - anyone of you here, have ever worked with or used mainframes? What's your experience?

Alexandoy

Experienced Chatterer
Aug 4, 2020
I was a computer programmer for our bank's IBM S/370 which was running on DOS/VS. The mainframe is a composed of a big CPU with a footprint like a fridge, a 1403 Printer that uses the continuous form, tape drives and disk packs which are all kind of giants compared to the small hard disk now. I remember our computer's memory was only 144 KB and it runs virtual on the disk of 70 MB. The language we were using are COBOL and IBM Assembler.

Anuj Dhawan

New Chatterer
Oct 9, 2020
That's excellent - I never thought that you might have worked with mainframes, this is great to know. I worked with them and still do - they are fun to work with. However, not that well paid in some part of the worlds.

Alexandoy

Experienced Chatterer
Aug 4, 2020
Companies here shifted to the micro computers in the year 2,000 that the PC proved to be convenient than the mainframe. I have to admit that the technology now is just too far advanced compared to the mainframe days. And it is not only the PC and the laptop but even the gadgets can be comfortably used for purposes of handling files. By the way, my first mainframe was the IBM that I mentioned above. It was followed by the Wang computer when I worked in London and then IBM 4330 when I worked in the US. Back in our country it was Fujitsu.

Hova

Experienced Chatterer
Jul 29, 2020